Multilingual Programs and Services

Phone: 760-247-8001

Mariana Torres

Director of Equity and Access

mariana_torres@avusd.org

ext. 20531

Karina Ramirez

Administrative Secretary I

karina_ramirez@avusd.org

ext. 20544

Silvia Bañuelos

TOA/ELD

silvia_banuelos@avusd.org

ext. 20532

Erika Suarez

Program Assistant, Biliterate

erika_suarez@avusd.org

ext. 20541

Maribel Colunga

Program Assistant, Biliterate

maribel_colunga@avusd.org

ext. 20533

Maricela Alcala

Student Services Specialist

maricela_alcala@avusd.org

ext. 20535

Alicia Avila

Student Services Specialist

alicia_avila@avusd.org

ext. 20534

Annet Calderon

Student Services Specialist

annet_calderon@avusd.org

ext. 20536

Welcome

Instruction

Our students are supported in language development and academic growth throughout the day. In addition to Designated ELD, students receive language support during core and content subjects (English Language Arts, Math, Social Studies, Science) through Integrated ELD. These practices include academic vocabulary instruction, structured academic talk using response frames, and scaffolded guided writing.

Intensive (far below basic) level readers in grades four – twelve, receive reading intervention and English Language Development through instruction in the Scholastic READ 180 program.

EL Program evaluation presentation.mp4