Health Services

District Nurse Staff Directory

Phone: (760) 247-8001 

Fax: (760) 247-7063

Lisette Gomez, MS, RN

lisette_gomez@avusd.org

ext. 20586

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Christara Holtgrefe, BSN, RN

christara_holtgrefe@avusd.org

ext. 20557

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Wendy Johnson, BSN, RN

wendy_johnson@avusd.org

ext. 20558

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school sites: 

Janine Morris, BSN, RN

janine_morris@avusd.org

ext. 20583

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Amber Mullinax, MS, RN

amber_mullinax@avusd.org

ext. 20585

Work Hours: 7:00am- 3:30pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Miranda Odgers, MSN, RN

miranda_odgers@avusd.org

ext. 20587

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school sites: 

Megan Pretzer, MSN, RN

megan_pretzer@avusd.org

ext. 20584

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Megan Salisbury, BSN, RNC

megan_salisbury@avusd.org

ext. 20593

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Ashley Vennes, BSN, RN

ashley_vennes@avusd.org

ext. 20582

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school sites: 

Melissa Wheeler, MSN(c), RN

melissa_wheeler@avusd.org

ext. 20588

Work Hours: 7:30am- 4:00pm

Office Hours: Varies

Oversees the following school site: 

Upcoming Vaccine Clinics

Apple Valley District Office 3.27.24.pdf
Apple Valley District Office 4.24.24.pdf

School Nursing Description and Responsibilities

According to the National Association of School Nurses, "School nursing, a specialized practice of nursing, protects and promotes student health, facilitates optimal development, and advances academic success. School nurses, grounded in ethical and evidence-based practice, are the leaders who bridge health care and education, provide care coordination, advocate for quality student-centered care, and collaborate to design systems that allow individuals and communities to develop their full potential." (NASN, 2021)


Essential Duties and Responsibilities include the following:

School Health-Related School Board Policies

Health Forms

Screenings

Vision Screenings

Each student's vision shall be appraised by the school nurse, or other personnel authorized under Education Code 49452, during the kindergarten year or upon first enrollment or entry in a district elementary school and subsequently in grades 2, 5, and 8. The vision appraisal shall include tests for visual acuity, including near vision. Male students shall also be tested once for color vision in grade 1 or later and the results of the appraisal shall be entered in the student's health record (Education Code 49455).

Hearing Screenings

Each student shall be given a hearing screening test in the following grades (17 CCR 2951): 2, 5, 8, 10, or 11, and upon first entry into the California public school system. Each student enrolled in a special education program, other than those enrolled because of a hearing problem, shall be given a hearing test when enrolled in the program and every third year thereafter. Hearing tests may be given more frequently as needed, based on the individualized education program team's evaluation of the student (17 CCR 2951). A follow-up hearing threshold test shall be administered to any student who failed to respond to any of the required frequencies in the screening test or is otherwise determined to need further evaluation (17 CCR 2951). 

Resources